Stroke and TPA

On “Morning Edition”, there was a story about a successful intervention in which a woman was saved by TPA after a stroke.  I rushed to a hospital emergency room not long ago, thinking I was having a stroke.  The waiting room was crowded with people (who looked fine), they ignored me for hours, got furious with me for asking for help, then locked me up.  In the morning, a psychiatrist admitted that the hospital had made a mistake, but suggested I should forget it.  Like an idiot, I didn’t think of suing.

What if I was right about having a stroke?  If not a stroke, what was it?  In retrospect, I think it was a stroke, and I was very lucky to recover on my own, no thanks to them.  The hospital (“Cedars”) went out of business soon thereafter.  It was bought, I hear, by the hospital across the street (“Jackson”), which they say has a “world class” reputation.  I don’t know; I’ve spent hours in their emergency room, and got screwed-over there, too.  Another long story.

From five in the afternoon till nine in the morning, I saw no sign of a doctor at Cedars.  I studied a bit of medicine on my own (spent a lot of hard-earned money on discounted textbooks), but I wouldn’t want to be any kind of doctor, at least not in this country, not even a consultant.

Sooner or later, it may happen again.  I know what I’ll do, but I don’t know what they’ll do.

Incidentally, I couldn’t remember “TPA” at the time, and I thought the “window” was 45 minutes, not three hours.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

