A party next door

Barack Obama has set up a tent in his back yard, and is hosting a “Latin fiesta”.  I lived next door to several huge, noisy parties, and also within earshot of the White House, and can attest that everybody agrees they’re no fun unless they’re loud, very loud, and unless you’re invited.  I feel sorry for Obama’s neighbors who have better things to do than listen to distant partying.  One New Years’ Eve when I was about ten, my parents deposited me in a hotel room facing Times Square and went out to have fun.  I, meanwhile, lay in bed in my dark hotel room, learning how to feel miserable.  I’ve never forgotten.

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

