Nokia

Have you ever tried to get in touch with Nokia about getting a new battery for your older Nokia phone? Well, I have. They sent me two uninformative e-mails and told me I should not change the subject line (I think) or break the thread (I didn’t), and when I attempted to reply to the last one to explain exactly what I wanted and what was wrong with their reply, they sent me an automated response with a link to the web where I could ostensibly contact them.

I followed the link and attempted to contact them. Choosing any subject other than “Other” gave me useless information referring me to a phone number. Nokia wore out my phone battery and now they want to wear out my laptop’s battery, too!

I got the following:

“Network Timeout

“The server at knowledge.search.nokiausa.com is taking too long to respond.”

I delete the stuff before the *second* “http://”. I got:

“This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below.”

Shown below:

<nokiaWebApp>
<skeletonPageURL>http://www.nokiausa.com/A4991381</skeletonPageURL&gt;
<domainURL>http://www.nokiausa.com</domainURL&gt;
<selfservice>true</selfservice>
<imAppPath>https://ic.knowledge.nokia.com/searchim</imAppPath&gt;
<imChannel>FAQS</imChannel>
<imCategory>GENERIC</imCategory>
<imUser>genius</imUser>
</nokiaWebApp>

…preceded by a blank line, a hyphen, and a space.

I tried over and over to no avail.

Nice way to treat your paying (or should I say paid?) customers, Nokia! 😦

By the way, I found a battery, the very kind I need, but the kind they’ve issued a product advisory about, at an old phone store. It was still in the package, but dead, and couldn’t be recharged. Earlier, I bought five batteries on the Internet for $30 each, but they stank. That old phone store tells me they’ve found another and checked it out, but we’ll see. Frankly, I can’t believe it, and I bet the price has jumped from the original $11!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

